The Journey

Here I am

On a journey

To emotional, spiritual, physical and mental wellness

My last post I talked about my journey and the disparities I face daily and how it effects my diet and emotional well-being.  I even discussed the “how’s” of making a sustainable change to becoming who I truly am (which is not limited to the expression of self but how I feed and nourish my physical body).  I am excited to share that I am currently on a fast.  Through reflection of life, choices made and dealing with ppl who surround me, I have adapted a new way of thinking and processing my actions.  I noticed that when I was really emotional, it was tied to critical analysis of myself…  I was so harsh and mean to myself that I inflicted discomfort and shame of who I was and where I was.  At that point the decision to relax and take on acceptance and appreciation of who I was and where I was allowed an amazing change in my lifestyle and diet.

I knew that I wanted to cleanse my body and rid it of toxins along with the judgment and abuse I inflict on myself.  When the decision was made that this would be the next move to my happiness and freedom, I let my body decide when the time was right for me to move on such a journey.  Forcing myself to start on a particular day was something I decided against.  Forcing a start date would allow another reason to beat myself up and see myself failing causing me to give up before I begin is the reason why I decided to move on inspiration instead.  June 15 was the first day of my fast and I am on day 13!

My fast is not a traditional fast in the way I did not do extensive research outside of what I already know of the items that consist of a healthy diet… My fast is centered around a vegetarian diet.  I consume mostly vegetables, along with fruits, whole grains, with nuts and seeds for my protein needs.  Juicing is also a staple during my fast.  During the morning hours until 5pm I only drink water.  After 5 pm I usually start with a hearty juice or a smoothie.  My menu options vary however I still stay within the aforementioned parameters (vegetarian diet).  As I already stated previously,  this was something I was inspired to do and my body responds well because I am listening to the needs of my body.

Moving on this inspiration has allowed me stay the course of this fast.  Bad days are not emotionally draining and I am able to challenges more objectively.  When I am in the perspective of being objective, emotional distress is dramatically reduced allowing to focus on the problem and not internalize it to bring myself down.

The last was a major tool in reflection allowing to really see how my behavior was truly hurting my physical well-being and allowed me to move to a place of acceptance and joy.  Below I will list my typical meal and exercise routine during my fast.  If your are interested in other recipes to cleanse your body even without fast please request so!  I hope that this journey is one that inspires you to move to a healthier happier you as well!

Workout

3-5 mile leisure walk

3 sets of 10 squats, push-ups, leg raises (in the morning and before bed)

Menu

32 oz of fresh live juice (carrot, apple, lemon, ginger, kale, spinach, cucumber)

Kale salad with a sprinkle of shaved almonds and sunflower seeds (protein) with chopped red pepper fresh garlic with balsamic vinaigrette

black bean burger in lettuce wrap with brown mustard and apple slices

This is the fast I am doing is focusing on a more natural diet highlighting veggies and fruit as a staple.  Any questions any words of motivation, PLEASE SHARE!!!!  Thank you for taking the time to read and I look forward to sharing my progress in the upcoming posts along with sharing the latest diet fads found nation-wide!

LoVe JuIcE

LoVe HeAlTh

One thought on “The Journey

Leave a comment